Update on EU Travel Restrictions

March 12, 2020

We are writing with an update on the EU travel restrictions, which essentially are an extension of the restrictions previously issued for China and Iran.  If you have any questions, please let us know.  We do recommend considering utilizing a form to screen passengers where it is difficult to ascertain prior travel history from their passports, etc.  If you are interested in a sample, please let us know.

Effective for flights departing for the U.S. after 11:59pm Eastern Daylight Time on Friday, March 13, 2020, (03:59 GMT on Saturday, March 14, 2020) the U.S. is extending its existing travel restrictions on China and Iran to include the European Schengen Area.  The Schengen Area comprises 26 European states: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The new Proclamation, available at this link, suspends admissibility to the U.S. of most classes of non-U.S. citizen (aliens) who have been present in the Schengen Area within the last 14 days preceding their attempted entry into the U.S.  This includes persons transiting the Schengen Area but excludes U.S. citizens, permanent residents, airline crew members, and certain other aliens.  Foreign carriers should consult counsel or the Transportation Security Administration International Industry Representatives (TSA IIRs) regarding implementation of the proclamation, including the need to inquire into and verify the recent travel history of U.S.-bound passengers.  You must not board any passenger on a direct flight to the U.S. whose entry is suspended under this or previous presidential proclamations for control of COVID-19.

Additionally, all flights carrying any person (e.g., including U.S. citizens and permanent residents) who has been within mainland China, Iran, or the Schengen Area within the last 14 days must land only at an approved screening airport.  The approved airports are:

  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington
  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
  • Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), California
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas; and
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan.

Please let us know if you have any immediate questions. 

If you have any questions, please contact Evelyn Sahr (esahr@eckertseamans.com or 202-659-6622), or Eric Felland (efellend@eckertseamans.com or 202-659-6677).

Share This Post


Evelyn D. Sahr Photo Washington, D.C.

Evelyn D. Sahr

Member - Washington, D.C.

See full bio
Eric A. Felland Photo Washington, D.C.

Eric A. Felland

Associate - Washington, D.C.

See full bio